One World One Ummah

Free laptops for students

leave a comment »


Free laptops for students Thirteen schools benefit under pilot project:

Dharma SRI ABEYRATNE In line with the national drive to arm the younger generation with the knowledge of English and Information Technology, the Education Ministry has taken steps to issue laptop computers to students in 13 schools. The program is carried out under the One Laptop Per Child program (OLPC) conducted by the Education Ministry in collaboration with the University of Colombo. Under this program, 1,250 laptop computers will be distributed to students in 13 schools. The context of text books from Grade One to Five and the curriculum has already been fed in to the computers. The laptop computers have been designed for rough use since it is used by children and it is powered by two power sources, as hydro power and solar power. In addition to the operating system in English, the children can operate the computer either in Sinhala or Tamil languages whichever they prefer. The computer comes with a sound system enabling students to play sound tracks. This facility helps the students to learn music, pronunciation of words, aesthetic subjects etc. High bright screen provides the maximum viewing opportunity to the user even in broad day light. “Since the laptop computer can be operated by solar power it will be a boon to underprivileged schools which haven’t electricity supply. The computer can be a tool which increase the ‘quality of education’ as the feed back of the computer is high” Education Ministry Secretary Nimal Bandara said.

School’s receiving laptops: These thirteen schools which were categorized as underprivileged schools have been selected to represent the whole country. The schools are Kalugahaela P.V. in Galewela education zone, Mawattegama P.V. in Thambuttegama zone, Van. Sri Vaithilingam P.V. in Jaffna zone, Ganangamuwa P.V. in Maho zone, Hegoda Sooriya P.V. in Ambalangoda zone, Seelarathana P.V. in Gampaha zone, Blackwood P.V. in Bandarawela zone, Deliwala Tissa P.V. in Mawanella zone, Tharul Hasanath P.V. in Akkaraipattu, Katawala K.V. And Saraswathie P.V. in Kurunegala zone, Kukulkatuwa P.V. in Anuradhapura zone, Waihena K.V. in Galle zone.


Written by

September 11, 2009 at 3:53 pm

Posted in News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: